Toby's Log page 118

scary trip under my house

During my stove installation assumed gas-out situation, I ventured under my house to see if a gas line running toward the stove was indeed spliced into the one going to the furnace. One was, on a little tee near the tank end. However, I discovered a horrific site (at least to a home-owner/energy conservationalist). The underside of my house in the back area and especially the middle, was filled with holes going straight up to the floor boards. Smaller ones maybe 5″ in diameter were all over the place. Some of these had small bits of black plastic taped over them, most of which were in the process of falling off. There were bigger holes though, including one perhaps 5′ square. In that largest hole, I could see the pipes running to the kitchen, expaining why they constantly freeze. I also could see a bit of the heating duct exposed, and there was a strange vertical duct sticking down into the underneath area with a opening at the end. I’m not sure if it’s there to throw some heat into the under-area there, which would seem terribly inefficient, or if it is not even connected to the heating system.

The ground beneath the house was covered with lots of junk, including a box of siding and a telescope (which I had seen before). There was also a thin layer of grayish insulation looking stuff in certain areas, and a large amount of small particles floating in front of my flashlight. This probably contributed to the irritation of my lungs and eyes and helped speed my exit.

It looks like this is a big portion of the cause of my extremely high heating bills (I heat my small house to 50°, yet pay more than in a normal house heated to 70°), and so I shall have a large project on my hands. I will have to put new sheathing of some sort and insulation down there to slowly replace the holy flooring. This will probably cost a good bit of money and take a lot of cramped work, but should save me a good bit in heating bills and allow me to keep water flowing to the kitchen. I also intend to replace my water pipes with copper and lay some PEX pipes for a radiant heating system, so I could do this at the same time, or more likely, set it up so I can easily remove the panels and do it later. I want to vacuum or sweep out all that insulation junk on the ground before I start though.


thought I was outta gas

My am I silly. When installing my stove, I had to turn off the gas at the tanks to put in the gas line. When I was finished, I opened the valves again. I went inside to test the new line for leaks using soapy water, I saw bubbles on the first connection I sprayed, so I tightened it a good bit. I soon realized, however, that my soap, probably because it is the “oxy” variety, bubbled no matter what. I then opened the valve to try the stove, but got nothing. We were not completely sure the line ran to it was actually connected to the tanks, as I didn’t recall where it connected into the line going to the furnace, so I figured it must not be hooked up. I went to turn on the furnace. The last time I had done it, I had just left the knob set to ‘on’ and lit it up. I couldn’t seem to get it lit. I knew I had had trouble before, and had needed to let the gas flow out for a bit, so I tried for a while. I tried opening the valves on the tank more outside, closing and opening them again, and even turning the furnace knob to pilot. I glanced at the instructions, but saw mostly jibber-jabber about being careful and what-not.

After reading up in some Amerigas pamphlets, I came to the assumption that I had a ‘gas-out’, as I was slightly low (26%) and the pamphlet mentioned this could happen even without running the tank all the way down. I used my electric space-heater, but it was only 8°F outside, windchill -7°. It got down to perhaps 36° in most of the house and near 50° in my bedroom (where the heater was). I worked that day. When I came home, I had hoped perhaps the heat of the sun would start them flowing again, but my attempts still failed.

I fell asleep, as I was tired, so I didn’t get to call Amerigas till after their hours. I called at 8:30 the next morning, telling them I think I had a gas-out. It was a bit of a confused conversation, and when I said I had 26% left, she said that I wasn’t out of gas, but that I shouldn’t let it run too low or they’d charge $75 for a leak test. I declined the rush delivery, which ran $100. She gave me the charge just for the gas at a special lock-in price. She said she’d send me the forms to get this lock-in, and that I’d have to send them back ASAP. She was waving the $40 application fee normally involved. Sweet. The price quoted at the lock-in was perhaps 50¢ a gallon cheaper.

After work that night, and after doing some shopping, I called my Dad (he had called while I was out to check up on me) and told him that I though I had a gas-out. I told him I couldn’t get the furnace or the stove to light. He rather quickly realized I had not held down the button of the knob while it was at the ‘pilot’ setting, pointing out that the thermocouple closed when it cooled down to prevent gas from leaking out. The instructions reinforced the idea of pushing down the button. Had I but read them a little more thoroughly, I would’ve seen that. How silly of me. Such a simple little thing, and I had been freezing away for a day and a half. The problem with the stove was soon fixed as well. When I had been unable to light it at first, I had hoped there was a valve somewhere below the house just for that line. My dad suggested I check for this, and if that didn’t work, unscrew the flex-line going to the stove to see if gas came out there. There indeed was a valve, an old decrepit one, right near the side of the house, making it easy to access.

My house was warmer very quickly. I lowered the thermostat from the usual 50° to 45° to ensure I wouldn’t really run out of gas. The stove worked as well, and I got to play with it a bit. I didn’t end up cooking anything that night though, as I was a bit lazy and cold (still) and ended up just falling asleep.


got me a stove

I finally got a real stove. It’s installed and all. My parents last christmas (or perhaps my birthday) offered to give me a stove. I did research looking for the one I wanted before and after that. I wanted a 20″, or at least 24″, but those weren’t offered locally. I also wanted a cooktop, but couldn’t find one of those online in the 20″ width. I was a little leary of getting the stove delivered anyway. I finally realized that to get a good stove with the narrow width, I’d have to get a range. The Sharp microwave/oven I had gotten just didn’t work as well as I’d hoped as a real oven anyway. I found one I liked on some websites, but didn’t order it, just bookmarked it. It was an Avanti. It had the electric ignition (no energy lost to pilot, though I was hoping for piezo) with sealed burners (much easier cleaning). I eventually went with the more expensive one with stainless steel and an oven window, since I found it so close to the price of the cheapest one when shipping was included.

I didn’t do anything about it, partly out of laziness, and partly because of other projects. I finally decided it was time to stop using the electric hot plate and old camp stove. The hot plate was thermostatically controlled, but had a very wide swinging method of getting at the temperature it was set at. On simmer, it would go all the way up to full blast, red hot for a bit, then swing back down to too cold to cook anything, and stay that way for several minutes before going back up again. This made for a very slow process of cooking food that could easily include burning it if I wasn’t there to shut off the heat when it got too hot. The camp stove was rather unstable, and every time I’d touch the pan, I’d have to hold it to prevent it from sliding. The flame would frequently go out if at a simmer setting, so I couldn’t keep it very low. The flame was also very small in comparison to the size of the pot over it, so it would often burn a very small clump of food to the center of the pan.

I had to stay home the whole day they were expected to deliver the stove (a nice 7 hour window). Of course, it didn’t come till near the end of the day. I had borrowed the hand truck my Mom had newly acquired in case the guy’d just leave it in the yard and go, but luckily he helped me carry it inside. My dad helped me saw out the counter area it was to go. I had to switch the thing to LP, which involved putting in different sized gas orifices, flipping over a spacer bolt in the regulator, and tightening some screws for each knob. It was a bit of a pain, and I had to wait to finish because I needed a mini screwdriver for the knob screws. I managed to slice my finger pretty good when pulling off the knob panel for the second time: I pulled on it from the back, and the metal edge went right into my finger. Then I installed the gas line (luckily there was a line there for that purpose). I also set in 2×4 runners to raise it up a bit, to be level with the countertop. It fit in mostly nicely, though there is still a little lip where the counter goes above it near the back. My kitchen looks nicer and more like a real kitchen with it.

I got to finally use it after figuring out that there was a valve underneath the house that was closed. I made spaghetti. It started right up. It is definately easier to use than my old tools, and lowers my cooktimes. I don’t much like the burner setup. It has one powerful burner, two regular, and one simmer. The two regular are in the back, though those would otherwise be the ones I’d use most often. I’ll just have to live with it though. One of the burners’ knobs doesn’t activate the spark ignition, so I may have to take off the panel again to see if I can fix that.

I haven’t tried the oven yet.


Bolt taken care of

I finally got that messed up exhaust bolt taken care of. I bought some nuts for it, but didn’t end up needing them: for some reason, when I went to replace them, the entire post came out this time, instead of just the nut. I used one of the bolts I had bought before, and it worked perfectly.

Now my exhaust is quieter. I’m not sure why it is still somewhat noisy, but at least it’s better than before. At some point I’ll look at the rest of the boltage there and ensure everything is tight.

The tighter exhaust seems to have improved my performance somewhat as well. Now, when my cylinder misses, the performance impact is not quite as bad, though it definately still is a problem. I’m not sure why fixing the exhaust would have improved the performance like that; perhaps the lack of vibration helps somehow, or just makes me more willing to pump more gas into the engine.


DarwinPorts: RoR, new apache

I’ve taken an interest in Ruby on Rails because of a recomendation from some folk at Macaddicit forums. I used darwinports to install Ruby and the gems installer. I then used the gems installer to install rails. Darwinports is very nice and easy to use for the installations, as it takes care of all dependcies automatically and has an easy to understand interface. It is extremely slow though, often taking several hours for some packages.

I got rails working quite quickly through the Webrick server. I followed a tutorial that helped me easily create a simple application in rails. So far it seems very nifty and easy to work with, but I still have a lot more to learn before I can really get going with this.

One part of the tutorial introduced me to AJAX, codename for a set of javascript functions that allow loading of content into an already loaded browser page without the use of frames or objects, the only methods I had known of before this. I had been looking for a replacement for frames for a good while. AJAX allows a lot more versatility than the frame method. RoR offers AJAX through some built-in functions, requiring no use of the underlying javascript. I would, however, like to learn the javascript as well.

The Webrick is much slower and less versatile/functional than a regular server, so I wanted to try to get it running through Apache. I tried it with my current apache install, but couldn’t figure out how to get fast-cgi, a seemingly required component, to work with it. So I decided to move over to a darwinports installed apache; it’d be easier to update anyway, than with the WebServerXKit that I had been using, and would also allow me to change my PHP version to use exif tags so that my photo gallery’d work. That was much more of a hastle. I had trouble installing my apache2 with php5, until I realized I needed to remove the startup item created by WebServerXKit to allow darwinports to create its own. I then had trouble getting it running. I thought it replaced the standard apache install from apple, as it seemed to have modified its httpd.conf, but it was really in it’s own directory. It also didn’t create an httpd.conf for me, so I had to create one from its default one, then modify it with my own settings, plus add in loading of both php and fastcgi. I still haven’t gotten RoR working with it yet. I also couldn’t get the darwinports mysql server to work with it, and for some reason had trouble getting the old mysql server to work (I don’t even know what I did to get it working). Darwinports oughta have more documentation on this stuff, as it doesn’t quite work out of the box and has configuration files and what not in its own locations.


Network

company server central location for all information needed by employers/ees. employees can access schedule info, pay info, etc. on internet accessible site and put in schedule requests. database holds schedule and payroll info.


valve cover gaskets; exhaust bolt trouble

My engine’s been running rather poorly for a while now. I have trouble pulling out into the road in front of other cars and going up hills. A valve seems to be ‘missing’ in high power (or sometimes all) situations. The problem seems to be caused by oil leaking into a spark plug hole and messing with the firing. I recently replaced the valve cover gasket and the gaskets that seal between the valve cover and the spark plug holes. Unfortunately, this made it worse for a while. I put some sealant around all possible areas of leakage, save for around the valve cover gasket, as this is supposed to be free of sealant, and would be unrelated to the problem anyway. I still seem to be having some oil leaking up there though. There is oil leaking all over the engine block as well. I’m a little worried and put off by this.

My most urgent problem is an exhaust leak. I’ve had it since I replaced the exhaust (replacing the previous, more significant leak), as I hadn’t replaced a bolt I semi-broke. It connects a pipe to the manifold. I can’t tighten it down since it’s a bit broke, so exhaust is able to leak out easily. I can definately smell exhaust while driving, which is of course bad for the health. Regular car part stores don’t seem to have the exact part I’m replacing. I plan to just get a nut of the same size, but Lowe’s and Home Depot don’t have a good metric selection. I’ll have to try a place with more. I wan’t to get that taken care of quite soon though.

While driving to try to get replacement parts, I used my brother’s car. He has a little early ninety’s Civic with mileage around 40k (an amazing buy). My that car has some power. My car’s quite anemic right now, but even in good shape it wasn’t that powerful. And I’ll bet it get’s near the mileage I get. It handles better than my car as well, which is to be expected because of its shortness. The transmission is quite interesting, with extremely short movement between gears. Only a 4 speed, but it seems to manage quite well with them; it makes it quite easy to drive. The brakes are not very good though, requiring a lot of depression before they kick in at all. They don’t feel to have much power. The steering is rack-n-peanut, so it can be hard to steer at times. I’m not sure whether I like that or not. It is a bit more reliable and easy to maintain than power-steering, but it can take quite a bit of force at times.


Mimi died

Mimi, also known as my grandmother on my father’s side, or Melba Mackenzie, died Friday (10/28/5 in the afternoon), the last of my grandparents. She had been ailing for quite some time. I was surprised how long she made it. She had had a stroke some years back that left her unable to manage at her former home, so she moved into a retirement village. She lost some physical capability. She couldn’t operate her right arm very well, having trouble writing, which she had loved so much to do. She also had trouble with one of her legs. Over time this worsened and turned out to be something wrong with her knee. Eventually she couldn’t walk, though she could uncomfortably stand and make her way into a chair or to reach some things. She was still able to live by herself, at the Cardinal Retirement Village where she lived. They made dinner for her, but she complained about it constantly. Some of her friends moved over to a place in the Falls called Danbury and had liked it a lot. They said the food was excellent, prepared by a five star chef. She had been complaining about many things regarding Cardinal for a while, so she finally moved out, over to Danbury. The apartment was smaller, so we had to help to get rid of some of her stuff. It’s always so sad having to get rid of stuff, especially because of the possibility of getting rid of something important, that holds some spur to the memory of some important event or thing in the past that could otherwise be lost forever. We crammed her remaining stuff into her new apartment and storage locker. Danbury was amazingly nice looking compared to Cardinal. It was more like a nice, clean, new hotel than an old shabby apartment building. The food was also indeed quite excellent. This more than made up for the smaller apartment with a smaller outside porch. Mimi loved watching the birds visit her apartment, so she got permission to attach a bird feeder to the overhang of her porch. My dad visited her every Wednesday night and Saturday morning to have a meal and help her with the things she was unable to do herself, like fill the bird-feeder, do her shopping, and refill her prescriptions. She managed alright, though everything took her much longer than it used to. I had to help with her pills and other things when my dad had a heart attack. I also had to drive her to the doctor’s and to the hair dresser at Cardinal, whom she much preffered to the one at Danbury. She went every two weeks if she was healthy enough, so I got to see a lot more of her. I hadn’t seen her too often for a good while there. We’d usually go out to eat after the hairdressers. This wasn’t exactly easy for her. She had trouble getting into and out of the car and chairs at restaurants, and hearing the servers. But she enjoyed the food and spending some time with me. I even introduced her to real Mexican food; she must have only known Mexican based upon Taco Bell before that. I only got to take her there once, but she enjoyed it a good bit and had mentioned it several times since then when we talked about where we could go. She usually wanted me to choose, but I generally didn’t care where we went, and wanted to take her somewhere where she could get something she wanted. She enjoyed Eat n Park a good bit, because it had some good spaghetti, one thing Danbury wasn’t able to make. It also had a chicken stir fry that she really liked. Other things, such as the gravy covered sandwiches and strawberry salad, she didn’t like too much. One of her favorites was Olive Garden, but we only ate there once because of the cost and goodness of the spaghetti at Eat n Park. We even had Jamie come along to the Olive Garden. We were going to have Paul come along as well, but he hadn’t been able to for some reason.

Mimi had gotten a little motorized scooter back at Cardinal once she couldn’t walk anymore. She drove it down to meals, and occasionally we had her drive it down and park it at the front door when taking her places. She took the cart to Danbury. It got a nice reception there. One of the woman working at the dining room would drive it around while Mimi ate. She got her a horn for the cart and would toot it whenever she drove it. All the people at Danbury were very nice, and they even got to know me a bit when I came to visit Mimi. The people at Cardinal weren’t all nice to her. Many of the resident’s were her good friends, but she had trouble with some of the employees. When she left though, many wanted her to come back. The two woman at the front desk always enjoyed seeing her revisit to get her hair done, and wanted her to come back. Many others knew her and greeted her when we came in. Sharon was the hairdresser that Mimi liked so much. She was a nice lady, and was always able to give Mimi the hairdo she wanted (although Mimi would sometimes move the bangs near the side, to Sharon’s disapproval). She’d tell me when I needed to be back by to pick Mimi up, and was always just finishing up when a I came in.

I never really got to know a whole lot about Mimi. I was too young for her to tell me much about her when I used to visit as a kid. Then there was a lull where I didn’t see her too much. I started seeing her a bit again when she had gone to Cardinal and occasionally needed assistance, such as going to the doctor (that conveniently was right across the street). Then after she moved again I started seeing a lot of her, though perhaps not as much as she would have wanted. She often would say that I could stop in or call her at any time, though I never ended up taking her up on that; I always found myself quite busy even though I didn’t necessarily have anything to do or get anything done (I still am this way). I didn’t ask her about her life, but she did occasionally tell me stories. I had known from before that she had been a teacher, including at Tri-C, had lived up in Maine for a while but found the winters awful cold, and had had a husband and daughter that I never met due to their early deaths. She told many stories about her teaching years, as well as some about Maine and about raising her children. One story of hers:
She was walking with a student through some town once. Mimi stopped at a crosswalk with a red light. The girl asked why Mimi was just standing there. Mimi said it was because there was a red light. The girl said “so” and wondered why that mattered. She had never seen a stoplight before, living in rural West Virginia, and Mimi had to explain to her what it did and how it worked.
She also often mentioned that she had done many things in previous lives, including visit Jamaica. She had said this when her granddaughter Kris took a vacation there. Kris was going to tell this story at her funeral, but then didn’t, perhaps because of the pastor’s (or whatever he was) strong religious theme to his speech. The funeral saw many guests, though, as we were the first there, I had worried we would be the only one’s. Guests included her Sister, some of my Dad’s cousin’s, us, Aunt Linda, with her husband and two children, some folk from Danbury, even two of my Mom’s siblings and their families. I was surprised to see my cousin’s Paul and Ally. They hadn’t known Mimi especially well, though she had made it to some of the family gatherings on my Mom’s side over the past several years. I had to talk to them, though, about camping plans. Kris, who had come down to see Mimi in her last days, invited us up to Maine next summer.

Mimi died over maybe a two week period. She had been feeling sick for a while, and wasn’t able to go out to the hair dressers one Thursday. This happened occasionally. She continued to be sick for a while, progressing to the point where she was vomiting and unable to even get into bed. The people at Danbury wanted her to go to the hospital, but she didn’t want to. She seemed to hate that. She even signed a waiver when Danbury finally called 911 saying she refused to go. But as she was unable to do anything for herself, they, including my dad, convinced her that she had to go to the hospital. At the hospital, they found numerous things wrong with her, including pneumonia, failing kidneys, and dehydration. They re-hydrated her and what not, but her kidneys were in awful shape. She didn’t want to go on dialysis. Of the options given by the nurse, she decided to go to a hospice for the rest of her days. They’d give her medication and care for her, but take no other action to save her if she were dying. She was very tired and slept a lot, which slowly progressed to constant unconsciousness. I visited her twice before she died, once in the hospital just hours before she was moved, and once at the hospice. At the hospital, she for some reason thought my dad told her I was Jamie, but then realized I was Toby. She was very tired and didn’t talk much there. She did say that she’d be going to the hospice to die, and thought she had worn a white coat on her trip to the hospital. When I talked to her at the hospice, it was also brief. I didn’t know quite what to say, and she seemed to be very tired anyway. At one point she said she couldn’t stand her boredom there, and just wanted to sleep. I did get to talk to Kris a bit though, a cousin who I hardly know and haven’t seen very often. Too bad I didn’t realize that’d be the last time I’d see Mimi.

She was cremated. Her ashes will be spread over the lake by her camp in Maine in the summer. The pastor at the service gave a good speech to us. His speech was quite religion based, but many of his stories worked for us non-religious as well. I was a bit disappointed by the “punch-line” of one of his stories:
A man and his children were at the breakfast table, and jovially talking about people’s words at their death beds. They changed the tone by seriously asking him what he’d tell them if he knew he’d die. He said he didn’t know. At some point he had a heart attack and nearly died. After he was better, he told the kids he had thought about and written down what he’d have told them. He’d tell them to remember Jesus, or something like that.
This story wasn’t especially applicable to the non-religious, and was too long in the telling to find that out. He was a practical theologian who liked to show how theology applied to real life. My dad, Aunt Linda, Kris, and, on the spot, Uncle Art, gave short little talks about Mimi. They were all good and important contributions to the ceremony. My dad talked a good bit about her life, and her interest in education and strong will. Aunt Linda talked a bit about her life and read one of her poems. Kris also read one of her poems. Uncle Art told a few brief stories about her. I liked the ceremony, especially how it wasn’t so sad as some are.

I got to see many pictures of Mimi and her husband and children from long ago. It’s always interesting to see those snips of peoples lives that I’ve never seen before.

I will eventually expand, better organize, and turn this into a page.


Boot to console

I’m working on getting my computer to boot to a text console at startup instead of GUI. I had done this with previous versions of OS X, but never got around to it since installing Tiger. I really just want to figure out how to do it, but I could save some memory and a little bit of CPU time, and add to the coolity of startup by getting this to work.

In /etc/ttys, near the top, there are two lines that say console followed by some stuff. I commented out the second and uncommented the first. I have the verbose flag set as well (sudo nvram boot-args=”-v”), twice actually, but this doesn’t work once I change the line in ttys. I get the starting mac os x progress bar, which goes on forever instead. If I hit command-V to boot to verbose at startup, I can get to console. I read someone say that the progress bar screen is simply covering up the console, so I will look into disabling it. I don’t want to have to hold down command-V every time I restart, with penalty of having to hard-restart again if I forget.

For some reason, logging into >console doesn’t work in Tiger. I simply get an error message, then have 30 seconds or so to sit and wait till the login window reappears.

I should update this once I figure more out.

[Update:]I renamed /usr/libexec/WaitingForLoginWindow. Now boot goes through verbose startup direct to a console login prompt, which often has some additional startup messages after it. Thus startup is fine now. I got a startaqua script gathered from macosxhints.com that allows me to start up the regular mac interface. See http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20030716220410216 for the script and other instructions/discussions relating to this modification. The script must be run by root.


New front tires; cylinder missing

Got some BF Goodrich touring tires for the front. I looked into tires a good bit, heard Firestones were bad, Bridgestones and Michelin’s were good, and the one’s with Weather in them seemed reasonably to be good for weather. I went to Sears just because they had a variety of brands that seemed better than NTB. The lady there didn’t mention any Bridgestone or Michelins being available for my 13″ rims, though some had said on their webiste and on the wall at the store that they were available. She said the Goodrich tires would be the best for what I was looking for, which was good snow traction as well as good all-season performance. They cost $45 each before installation fees, etc., which wasn’t much more than the Bridgestone’s and others that were on sale, so I wen’t with them. $145 installed. That’s a good bit of money, getting close to half of what I spent on four Bridgestone Insignias on my Camry, which had also included wheel alignment. The Insignias I had liked a lot. They had really good snow traction. But they were unavailable in 13″. Hopefully these’ll perform as well as those.

From use so far, they seem to have quite good traction. Turns feel more controlled. I had worried a bit with my previous tires, which were pretty much flat bald in the centers. They seem to work quite well on wet pavement. I’ll have to wait till winter though to see their snow/ice performance. Though turning feels more sporty with them, acceleration does not. They feel heavier/bulkier, and make acceleration feel a bit slower.

One of my cylinders is missing, ie not firing, part of the time. It had been acting similarly for a while, and had been doing it particularly badly just before I installed the new exhaust. It then stopped for a bit. It started again soon after I did two things: I tightened a bolt on the exhaust system; I filled up the tank with Sheetz gasoline. I’m guessing the gasoline may have been the reason it suddenly started again. Either that or my Dad’s driving habits, as he borrowed the car the day it started having trouble again (the day after I refilled the tank and tightened the bolt). I found the cylinder, which was covered in wet oil. I’m guessing a gasket is leaking and the oil is preventing the spark from igniting when it is coating the plug thickly enough. The tank of gas I used before the Sheetz tank was from BP, with some fuel injector cleaner. I’m guessing the injector cleaner was helping burn off the oil.

I’ll have to look into it more, as a number of things could be causing this oil leak. Another valve looks like it is not far from having this problem, as it has oil covering its threads, though none below that. I can’t imagine running on only two cylinders. Some potential causes could be quite costly to fix, and it will be a pain to figure out the problem in the first place. Gotta happen soon though, as it is running quite poorly. I just put some new BP gas in, and will see what effect that has. I will try some more injector cleaner soon until I get the actual problem fixed.


</toby>